New Year Idea!

Hello!

I hope you’ve had a very merry Christmas and a happy new year! To start off the new year, (and my first ever post!), I’ve decided to show you something which I think is very pretty and so simple to make – book sculptures! Now please don’t hate me for doing this, but I can assure you the books which I used to make these were extremely out-of-date and looked to me as though they had been sitting in that charity shop for a very long time. Now they have a new home in my bedroom and look lovely every day! Here’s how to make them:

Start by taking the cover and spine off the book, then begin to fold each page in half.

Start by taking the cover and spine off the book, then begin to fold each page in half.

Continue the folding of each page and the book will start to look like this...

Continue the folding of each page and the book will start to look like this…

...and the final piece should look like this!

…and the final piece should look like this!

If you want to, you can glue the folded front and back pages together to make it look more rounded, but it's not completely necessary.

If you want to, you can glue the folded front and back pages together to make it look more rounded, but it’s not completely necessary.

You can change the way you fold the pages to make amazing shapes like this one! Here, I split the book into sections, folded some pages just like before and then folded others in half and then in half again, to make a triangles.

You can change the way you fold the pages to make amazing shapes like this one! Here, I split the book into sections, folded some pages just like before…

...and then folded others in half and then in half again, to make a triangles.

…and then folded others in half and then in half again, to make triangles!

I think these look so unique for saying how easy they are to make – I only had to explain it in six photos! If you wanted to, you could do even more stuff to them afterwards, such as spray paint them gold, (for next Christmas maybe?) Or you could just leave them plain like I have. I’ve made a few of these for my college art course, including a big piece where I stuck three of them to a big board of MDF – so far everyone likes them!

My art piece for college.

My art piece for college.

I hope that someone somewhere will get something out of this – it was fun to write anyway! I hope you have had a good new year so far and that it carries on this way. My new year’s resolution was to try and be as happy as I can, (cheesy, I know, but it’s easier than eating more healthily). I hope you are to!

x

3 responses to “New Year Idea!

  1. Being a bibliophile, it is a hard to imagine myself doing this to a book, but I have to tell you – these turned out so very cool, that I may have to just break down and give it a try! Especially with one of those books that you can tell has seen better days!

    Keep up the good work, and bravo on your first blog posting! I am excited to see more – we can all use a little more beauty in our lives!
    ~Christina 😉

    • Aaw thank you so much! This made me feel so happy! And I admit that I did feel a bit guilty at first buying these books from a charity shop, but in the end they have a new lease of life in my room 🙂 If you make one I’d love to see it – your blog is amazing by the way! x

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Being Complicated! | All Things Cute and Beautiful

Leave a Reply

