Pom Pom Power!

pom pom (2)

Hello! I thought I would show you how to make these really cute pom poms out of yarn. You can do so much with these and they are fairly simple to make. Here we go!

Begin by cutting two circles out of cardboard, then cutting a smaller circle inside each of these. For mine, I used a diameter of around 5.5cm for each circle and then cut the inner circle about 2cm from the edge. It doesn't have to be perfect!

Begin by cutting two circles out of cardboard, then cutting a smaller circle inside each of these. For mine, I used a diameter of around 5.5cm for each circle and then cut the inner circle about 2cm from the edge. It doesn’t have to be perfect!

Next, cut a very long piece of yarn - you'll have to estimate the length for this but I cut mine very long!Hold the two circles together, (aligning their inner circles), and start wrapping the yarn around them. Here, I folded the yarn in half, then in half again, so that I would be wrapping four strands around each time - it just makes it quicker!

Next, cut a long piece of yarn – you’ll have to estimate the length for this but I cut mine very long! Hold the two circles together, (aligning their inner circles), and start wrapping the yarn around them. Here, I folded the yarn in half, then in half again, so that I would be wrapping four strands around each time – it just makes it quicker!

Keep wrapping...

Keep wrapping…

... and keep wrapping! I went around mine about two times - this just means that the strands of the final pom pom will be more tightly packed.

… and keep wrapping! I went around mine about two times – this just means that the strands of the final pom pom will be more tightly packed.

After all that wrapping, you now need to wiggle your scissors into the wrapped yarn and in between the two card board circles.

After all that wrapping, you now need to wiggle your scissors into the wrapped yarn and in between the two card board circles.

Cut through the wound yarn all the way around the outer edge until you get something a bit like the above.

Cut through the wound yarn all the way around the outer edge until you get something a bit like the one above.

Cut a short length of yarn, (mine was about 15cm), and tie it in between the two circles. You must do this very tightly or the strands will fall out more easily. Double-knot it!

Cut a short length of yarn, (mine was about 15cm), and tie it in between the two circles. You must do this really tightly or the strands will fall out more easily. Double-knot it!

Once you have tied it securely, you can carefully pull off the cardboard circles so that your left with...

Once you have tied it securely, you can carefully pull off the cardboard circles so that your left with…

... a pom pom that looks something like this!

… a pom pom that looks something like this!

I cut one of the long strands off  so that I was just left with one, which I then tied in a loop so that it could hang.

I cut one of the long strands off so that I was just left with one.

I finally tied the strand in a loop so that it could hang and added some googly eyes - and I was left with a hanging pom pom creature!

I finally tied the strand in a loop so that it could hang and added some googly eyes – and I was left with a hanging pom pom creature!

I am very sorry if any of that was difficult to understand – it was a lot harder trying to explain it than it was to actually make! I made a little pom pom monster decoration, but you can do so much with these things; make a hanging baby mobile, tie them around presents to make an unusual bow, fill a bowl with them, hang them around your room, make a whole family of monsters – the possibilities are endless!

Thank you for reading!

x

Leave a comment