Daily Prompt: Being Nice!

Daily Prompt: Tell us about the nicest thing you’ve ever done.

I can’t really think of anything I have done that has significantly been the nicest thing, but I have a couple of examples.

My sister and I were sitting on the seats at the front of a full bus, the ones which flip up and are meant for the elderly or disabled. There were other young people sitting on these seats too; some of them were a lot older than us, (I was probably about fifteen). One old woman walked onto the bus and looked for an empty seat but there were none. We thought that it was the normal thing to do, giving up your seat for the elderly, so that’s what we did. I didn’t think about until afterwards but nobody around us even attempted to move, not even the adults in their thirties. Anyway, when we got off at the bus station, I heard footsteps behind us and a woman around the age of seventy, (who we had never seen before), thanked us for what we had done for the lady on the bus and told us that we were the type of youth that are wrongly stereotyped by people her age. I felt all bubbly inside!

Another time, (when I was probably around the same age), my friends and I were at school when we saw a girl a couple of years younger than us crying against the wall. We asked her what was wrong and she told us that a group of girls in her year had been mean to her. At first we took her to a teacher on duty that break time, but from what I can remember he didn’t really do much, just told her to ignore them and be the bigger person. At this point, I could see the group of girls giggling to themselves out of the corner of my eye and doing that annoying look girls do when they think they are five years older than they actually are. I asked the girl if she wanted to come with us to resolve the situation but she said no, so a couple of my friends stayed with her whilst me and two others went up to the girls. I’m not one to stir things up, but I am almost positive you would have done the same if you were there! We gave the group a very good talking to, (at the end of which they seemed genuinely sorry), and made them apologise to the girl, who eventually stood up for herself and told them to leave her be. At the end of break, she had a huge smile on her face as she went to her next lesson – naaaw!

x

9 responses to “Daily Prompt: Being Nice!

  1. It’s the small things in life that matter most sometimes. These were great stories to share, and you seem like a very warm hearted person. Never take those small things for granted, because those small acts of kindness tend to be the ones that save people the most 🙂

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Nice Is as Nice Does | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer

  3. Pingback: AN UNDERSTANDING SMILE | hastywords

  4. Pingback: To Serve Mankind | The Jittery Goat

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Nice Is as Nice Does | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  6. Pingback: Daily prompt: Mirror Mirror | The Wandering Poet

  7. Pingback: Daily prompt: Nice as nice does | The Wandering Poet

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Nice as Nice Does | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  9. Pingback: Nice is as nice does | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

