Daily Prompt: Being Assertive!

Daily Prompt: Tell us about the time you threw down the gauntlet and drew the proverbial line in the sand by giving someone an ultimatum. If you’ve never handed out an ultimatum but secretly wanted to, describe the scene and what you would say to put an end (one way or another) to an untenable situation.

Unfortunately, (or fortunately), I don’t think I have ever had to hand out an ultimatum to someone – that or it wasn’t interesting enough for me to remember! But if I have to in the future, this is how I want it to be:

The room dims. Everything and everyone transforms into a blur of black, white and grey –  everything except me and my opponent.

I glow blue whilst my enemy is red. We stare at each other, a few feet apart.

“Listen,” I say, my voice booming into the deathly silence. My partner holds their breath. “It’s either this, or that.”

The room fills with the gasps of the invisible spectators as they hear my ultimatum. My opponents knees buckle. Slowly, they look up at me and in a voice of defeat the word of victory sounds throughout the room.

“Fine.”

I smile at my opponent with satisfaction.

“Well alrighty then.” Then I stride past the crowd of spectators and out of the room, emitting my glow of blue victory.

That’s how I’d want it to be anyway!

x

Leave a Reply

