Daily Prompt: Being Musical!

Daily Prompt: Have you ever played in a band? Tell us all about that experience of making music with friends. If you’ve never been in a band, imagine you’re forming a band with some good friends. What instrument do you play in the band and why? What sort of music will you play?

I have played in a band before – not a guitar-wailing, bass-thumping, drum-crashing band like that, but one of those classic bands you’re likely to see at summer fairs.

I started playing the trumpet when I was about seven or eight, because my Grandad taught me how to play ‘Twinkle Twinkle Little Star’, and then took me to my first music lessons. This carried on for the next nine years or so!

One summer, my Grandad told me I could play next to him in one of the bands he’s involved in – so I did! It was quite an ‘english’ affair, with the band playing in the background in front of a grand house and white stalls selling tea and scones with a tombola. It was all very lovely, (even if I was only pretending to play on half of the songs!), and afterwards a nice old man bought me a huge scone with cream and jam.

I was a bit overwhelmed with it all at the time!

x

9 responses to “Daily Prompt: Being Musical!

  1. Pingback: Rockstar – Not So Much! | Views Splash!

  2. Pingback: Beats Till My Heart Beats | Views Splash!

  3. Pingback: SYMPHONY | hastywords

  4. Pingback: Daily post theme: Performance | The Wandering Poet

  5. Pingback: We Got the Beat! | Alexia Jones

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: We Got the Beat | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  7. Pingback: Jamming | Knowledge Addiction

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: We Got The Beat | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  9. Pingback: Band On The Run | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

