Daily Prompt: Being a Dancer!

Daily Prompt: In my earliest memories of dancing, I’m under my auntie Nancy’s dining room table, (which had been pushed off to the side of the room), watching my mom, dad, aunties, and uncles all dancing on the hardwood floor to a never-ending stack of 45 records, dropping one after the other. I remember foot-high stacks of 45s all around the record player. The song that I remember playing most? Twistin’ the Night Away by Sam Cooke. Every time I hear that song, I remember auntie’s spontaneous dance parties. What are your earliest and fondest memories of dance?

I used to do ballroom dancing once every week from the age of about four. I remember wearing a black glittery dress with sparkly silver dancing shoes and every session somebody would win ‘Best dancer of the week’ award. Once, I was sitting on the wooden floor of the community centre after that weeks dancing session and all of a sudden the elderly couple who ran it called out my name. I didn’t think I would ever win the award so I just continued to sit there. They read my name out again and I remember being so thrilled that I had actually one it for the week!

x

11 responses to “Daily Prompt: Being a Dancer!

  1. Pingback: In the Mood | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  2. Pingback: Let’s Dance! Daily Prompt | alienorajt

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Let’s Dance | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: I’ve Danced and Once! | Views Splash!

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Movement | The Wandering Poet

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Let’s Dance |

  7. Pingback: … Remember that scene in Hitch? | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  8. Pingback: Let’s Dance | Alexia Jones

  9. Pingback: Blog Dance poem: Daily Prompt | alienorajt

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Let’s Dance | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Leave a Reply

