Daily Prompt: Being Trippy!

Daily Prompt: Ever have an experience that felt surreal, as though you’d been suddenly transported into the twilight zone, where time seemed to warp, perhaps slowing down or speeding up? Tell us all about it. If you haven’t had an experience in real life that you can draw from, write a fictional account of a surreal experience.

This is a very short story inspired by a tale my mum told me about an experience she once had whilst riding…

Listening to the distinct sound of horse’s hooves on the tarmac, I breathe in the clean air which envelopes me in a warm country glow. It’s a spring day – the sky is a clear cornflower blue with the sun stretching its fingers through the branches above. I lead the other riders down the quiet country lane, listening happily to the cheerful banter from the others behind me. I feel the gentle movement beneath my legs as Sam breathes in, then  exhales in short huffs from his nostrils. We continue along the empty lane, trotting beside a trench which runs alongside the length of the road. It’s then that I feel it. Something isn’t quite right. Before I can comprehend what is happening, I am thrown into the air as Sam shies away from something in the ditch. It all happens so quickly. Still clutching the reigns, I feel myself falling sideways across the saddle; the greyness of the road swallows up everything I can see, getting closer and closer as I fall towards it…

I open my eyes. I am sitting upright on the saddle, listening to the gasps of the riders behind me. Am I crazy?

“Did that just happen?” I half-laugh.

The others just look in astonishment at me, not believing if what they had seen was an illusion caused by the sun dappled shadows or a small miracle.

x

7 responses to “Daily Prompt: Being Trippy!

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Twilight Zone | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Time Warp | Views Splash!

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Twilight Zone |

  4. Pingback: Slipstream | Edward Hotspur

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Twilight Zone | The Wandering Poet

  6. Pingback: The Camino Plan | Imagining The Road To Roncesvalles

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Twilight Zone | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Leave a Reply

