Daily Prompt: Being Reminded!

Daily Prompt: A song comes on the radio and instantly, you’re transported to a different time and place. Which song(s) bring back memories for you and why? Be sure to mention the song, and describe the memory it evokes.

I have a few songs I could write about here – most of them McFly songs from their tenth anniversary concert at the Royal Albert Hall in London! But I decided to go for the song that takes me back a couple of years ago to when I took part in a German exchange.

My German partner, (who was one of the nicest people I have ever met!), was shocked when my friend and I said that we had never heard of this song before in our lives. Apparently it was in the charts in practically every other country apart from Britain!

The song is Ai Se Eu Te Pego by Michel Telo.

Whenever I listen to this song now, it reminds me of walking down a German street in the evening, seeing the sun set behind the houses and wearing only a t-shirt because it was twenty-four degrees in March, (I live in England so this rarely happens!) My friend and I were helping our German partners and a few others set up a party that we were having the next night. As we were helping out, the song came on and our partners couldn’t believe that we had never heard of it before. So they took us outside into the car park and preceded to teach us both the words and the dance to it.

The next night at the party, the song came on several times and after my friend and I had taught all our English friends the dance, every single person on that exchange was dancing to it in a huge circle – I would love to transport back to that time!

x

10 responses to “Daily Prompt: Being Reminded!

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Disturbed – Deify | Views Splash!

  3. Pingback: Daily Post: Karma – A Trailer Tale | Cancer Isn't Pink

  4. Pingback: Always Something There to Remind Me – The First Lady in Red | Cancer Isn't Pink

  5. Pingback: Bluer Than Blue | THE MARRIED MAN WHO LOVES HIS X

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  8. Pingback: of leaving | Anawnimiss

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Writing Canvas

  10. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Abstract Alliterative Acrostalyptica” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

