Daily Prompt: Being Fooled!

Daily Prompt: Tell us about a time when someone had you completely fooled, where the wool was pulled right over your eyes and you got hoodwinked, but good. Was it a humorous experience or one you’d rather forget? What was the outcome?

One I’d rather forget unfortunately…

The worst thing about it is that it wasn’t even a real prank – we were playing a game of hide and seek!

About six years ago my sister and I were playing in the garden when she suggested we play hide and seek. Unfortunately, I agreed and started counting up to fifty.

“Ready or not, here I come!” I shouted, oh so obliviously.

I looked everywhere. After about ten minutes I started to get worried, so I asked my Mum where she was. Of course, my Mum would say that she hadn’t seen her. So I continued to scour the house and the garden for her until I was stressing quite badly. How would I tell everyone that I’d lost my sister? I stood in the driveway, thinking up a plan of action, when suddenly…

“WAAAGGGHHHHH!”

My sister jumped out from the depths of the garage wearing a silver skull mask. I can honestly say I have never screamed so loud in my life. I thought I was about to have a heart attack. And I was annoyed… actually, I was extremely angry. Do you ever worry about someone and then when you find them you wonder why you even bothered? That was how eleven year old me felt. From the kitchen I could hear my Mum laughing and my sister was in hysterics. I think I only see the funny side of it now!

x

Leave a Reply

