Daily Prompt: Being a Fighter!

Daily Prompt: Tell us about a time when you fought authority and took a stand against “the man.” Did you win?

Wow. This is one I could talk about for a long time!

During my GCSE years of school, I had an art teacher; she was just something else… and not in a good way!

Every single lesson, (without a doubt), she would make it her aim to humiliate someone in our class. I remember in Year 7, she made a boy stand on his chair holding his work and proceeded to point out every little thing that was wrong with the piece to the class. Then, once she made the boy agree with what she’d said, she made him rip the piece in half in front of everyone and told him to start it again. The most annoying thing about her was that she smiled every time she did something like this, as if trying to involve the class and get them to laugh with her, to make it all seem like a joke. Which it might have been for her, but it certainly wasn’t for most!

In year 11, I had planned out a very rough sketch in my book of something which could have been my final piece. She looked at it and told me it looked like a ten year old had drawn it. Then, as I tried and failed to tell her that it was just a rough plan, she flicked through the rest of my sketchbook and exclaimed that I probably wouldn’t be able to get an A for my end grade.

In my very final exam, she watched for ten hours as I painted my canvas, sewed into it and finally finished it off. The lesson after, she told me that it was far to simple and that because of this I wouldn’t be able to get my A grade. So I had to use an extra hour to add more detail, when she could have just told me when she looked at my plan before the exam.

Anyway, (getting to the actual point of the prompt!), one day, after she had reduced one of my friends almost to tears, we complained to our head of year about her. He was very sympathetic and even told us that some of the teachers didn’t like her attitude in the staff room, but at the end of the day, he couldn’t say anything to her because it would be like asking her to change her personality. So no, we didn’t win!

Here’s a picture of my final piece anyway:

DSCN2345

x

One response to “Daily Prompt: Being a Fighter!

  1. Pingback: I’ll stand | itsmayurremember

Leave a Reply

