Daily Prompt: Being Feisty!

Daily Prompt: How do you handle conflict? Boldly and directly? Or, do you prefer a more subtle approach.

This is quite a tricky one, as normally I don’t argue with people other than my sister, (and that leads to a lot of snapping, stomping, and then carrying on as though nothing happened). There was one time though when I just couldn’t stay out – perhaps that was silly of me, but then again, I wasn’t going to let her think she could get away with it! I was about fourteen and for some reason, a girl in my class had fallen out with my friend. I don’t remember much – just that I was standing with her and another friend when the girl walked past. She muttered something along the lines of “Urgh, buy some shampoo will you?” My friend retorted back and soon it turned into an argument, with the other girl laughing hysterically whenever my friend tried to reason with her. So in the end, I’d had enough.

“You know when you laugh like that, everyone else is laughing at you? You look pathetic.”

Maybe that might have been a bit harsh, but it shut her up long enough for us to walk away. Luckily, the same girl matured drastically over the following two years, turning into quite a likeable person!

Nowadays, I tend to just avoid the conflict and be civil when I need to be. It’s a lot less stressful!

x

Leave a Reply

