Daily Prompt: Being Unexpected!

Daily Prompt: You walk into your home to find a couple you don’t know sitting in your living room, eating a slice of cake. Tell us what happens next.

Something is wrong.

I don’t know how I have come to this conclusion, but it is. I think it may be something to do with the air surrounding me – perhaps a tiny degree of movement in the stillness of the hallway? I stand at the bottom of the stairway, unsure of what to do. That’s me – always indecisive. Eventually, I carry on as normal, slipping off my coat and scarf and pushing my feet into my slipper boots. I shuffle through to the kitchen and, (still slightly unsure of myself), and wander over to the cake tin. The thing is, it isn’t there anymore. Something shifts inside me – a mix between fear and a rather large dose of anger. ‘How dare they?!’ I think to myself as I stand next to the empty shelf. ‘How dare they break into my house and steal my cake?’ My hearing suddenly focuses on something – a tin scraping in the other room. The living room. Now determined, I grab the rolling pin from the counter and storm back through the hallway, throwing open the living room door…

Two strangers, a man and a woman, both look up from their slices of cake. I would say they are in their mid-30s, but it is hard to tell. I stand in the doorway, poised, ready. But they both just sit there and grin, slightly unnervingly. The woman looks vaguely familiar.

“GET OUT!” I suddenly find myself shouting, making myself jump. The couple just laugh.

“I told you she’d be surprised,” the woman laughs and I am sure I recognise that voice.

“W-who are you? I don’t even know you!” I  stammer, confusion and anger rising inside of me.

“Oh yes you do. And I also know that within the next minute you’ll have calmed down and we’ll all be eating cake together and discussing why we’re here.”

“How?” I cry.

“Because I am you. And this is a part of my history. I’ve already done your bit.”

I fall into one of the nearby sofas and somehow, I know everything that the woman has said is true.

“Cake?” The man offers me a slice.

“Please.” I reply.

x

Leave a Reply

