Daily Prompt: Being Verbally Annoying!

Daily Prompt: Is there a word or a phrase you use (or overuse) all the time, and are seemingly unable to get rid of? If not, what’s the one that drives you crazy when others use it?

For me, it’s the typical ‘like’. I can hear myself saying it and I silently give myself a goal not use it in, like, the next sentence – but it never works. I don’t actually find it annoying when other people use it, probably because it’s become such a common thing in our sociolect that I don’t even notice it anymore. But now I’ve written this, I just know I’m going to be analysing my speech next time I open my mouth!

x

2 responses to “Daily Prompt: Being Verbally Annoying!

  1. I’m not sure, but I think words such as “like”, “you know”, “really”, and “uh” might be age-related. In other words, most of us outgrow using them. Uh, really, like, you know, I might be onto something 🙂

Leave a Reply

