Daily Prompt: Being Dreamy!

Daily Prompt: you remember a recent dream you had? Or an older one that stayed vivid in your mind? Today, you’re your own Freud: Tell us the dream, then interpret it for us! Feel free to be as serious or humorous as you see fit, or to invent a dream if you can’t remember a real one.

When I was younger, (probably about five or six), I kept having the same creepy dream. It would always start with me waking up, (in my dream), and walking out onto our landing. I would look down the stairs into the hall and see light coming from the living room door, and I always knew this was wrong because my parents never stayed up late. When I tried to walk downstairs, I physically couldn’t. A shadow would appear on the wall at the bottom of the hall and start to move across it, (it kind of looked like a distorted person). Then I’d obviously try to run into my parents bedroom but my legs just wouldn’t move and eventually I’d wake up. One time though, I managed to make my legs work and I ran into my parent’s room. They looked like they were under the covers but when I pulled them back there was nothing there. I’ve just realised how scary this dream was! Now for my interpretation – when I was little I used to be terrified of getting burgled, (I know, I was a strange child). Perhaps the shadow represented a burglar. Maybe in that one dream, when my parents weren’t in their bed, my mind was showing me how scared I was of the burglar hurting my family? Or how helpless I would be in that situation? Luckily, we haven’t been burgled yet!

x

Leave a Reply

