Daily Prompt: Being Celebratory!

Daily Prompt: Since many are marking their country’s “birthday” in the US today, we wanted to ask: How do you celebrate yours? Are you all for a big bash, or more of a low-key birthday boy/girl?

Happy Birthday America!

I have never really had a ‘big bash’. When I was younger, I was quite happy with a traditional party at home with pin-the-tail-on-the-donkey and buffet food. When I was about five or six, I had a disco which I remember was brilliant, (dancing to the hokey cokey), and when I was eleven I went to laser quest and lost miserably. But other than that, it’s usually a family affair. I suppose I would like to experience a birthday house party, but I couldn’t have it in my house. I’d have to wrap everything in cling film, include the carpets and walls, then I’d take down every ornament and valuable in our house. It would just be too stressful – I think I’ll stick to my Chinese takeaway and cider for my eighteenth!

x

Leave a Reply

