Daily Prompt: Being Inventive!

Daily Prompt:Today, you can write about whatever you what — but your post must include, in whatever role you see fit, a cat, a bowl of soup, and a beach towel.

As I lie stretched out on my towel, enjoying the sound of sand as it crunches beneath me, I pull myself up into a sitting position to take a peek into other people’s lives. A man launches himself into the air to catch a ball his son has just lobbed at him; a large group coo over a sweet little toddler discovering driftwood for the first time – and then there are the young girls. Legs obviously soaked in fake tan, they meander there way along the beach with the forced elegance of a group of street cats, wearing nothing but bikinis and bug-like sunglasses, trying to catch the attention of every guy they pass. I sigh. Do they ever get bored of it? Trying so hard? It’s not even that warm. As if on cue, a shadow passes over the sea and makes its way up the shoreline. One minute. Two minutes. Then a spot of rain. Then two. And then a downpour. Everyone takes out their umbrellas in unison, bunching together to all keep try. Except for the girls of course. I take a sip of my cuppa soup and watch as they shiver in the rain, wearing nothing but bikinis and bug-like sunglasses. I could swear I saw the tan on one girl’s legs start to run. I don’t think they’ll ever learn.

x

Leave a Reply

