Daily Prompt: Being Blank!

Daily Prompt: When was the last time you experienced writer’s block? What do you think brought it about — and how did you dig your way out of it?

A few months ago in a rush of inspiration, I began writing a story. It was one of those moments when an idea sparks in your head and you’re too impatient to plan or draft or do anything other than rush straight into it and get all your ideas down before you forget them. I got two amazing chapters in and then hit a brick wall. I had no idea what was going to happen after these first chapters and no amount of thinking was helping me. Then I reread what I’d written and decided that it wasn’t even that good. I was going to restart with the same ideas but the spark had gone and my mind had gone blank. The bad thing about me is that when this happens, I don’t dig myself out of it – for some reason I have to leave that story behind and that’s that.

x

Leave a Reply

