Daily Prompt: Being Mechanic!

Daily Prompt: Machines, appliances, and gadgets sometimes feel like they have their own personalities — from quirky cars to dignified food processors. What’s the most “human” machine you own?

I have so many ‘gadgets’ that I feel affection towards, like my battered iPod Nano and my almost-but-not-quite-broken Nintendo Lite. But I don’t really see them as ‘human’. The only machine in my house that I consider remotely human is the printer. There’s something in the way it coughs and splutters out the paper that makes it like that, almost as if it’s a great effort. It even seems to sigh when I fill it up with a new ink cartridge! This is a bit weird, but sometimes when it’s struggling I give it words of encouragement to help it along…

x

Leave a Reply

