Daily Prompt: Being Intellectual!

Daily Prompt: Time to confess: tell us about a time when you used a word whose meaning you didn’t actually know (or were very wrong about, in retrospect).

Wow. Are we actually expected to remember stuff like this?! I don’t think I have an example! I usually have to know what a word means before I use it in context, mainly to avoid humiliation and the awkward muttering as I try to skim over it. I suppose when I write essays for English Language I tend to ramble on about one point until I’m not really sure what I’m discussing anymore and my words and sentence structure don’t really make that much sense. I remember about three years ago we had learnt very briefly about syntax and, (because I wanted to get a better grade), I included the word ‘syntactically’ in my work and hoped it actually referred to what I was talking about! Luckily for me, it did.

One reason I don’t use unfamiliar words is because when I was about nine years old, I saw a girl getting made fun of by her friend, just because she didn’t know what the word she had used actually meant. I didn’t know either but, not wanting to be embarrassed, I nodded and said that I did when the girl asked me. I know. I was such a bad friend.

x

Leave a Reply

