Daily Prompt: Being Young!

Daily Prompt: What’s your earliest memory involving another person? Recreate the scene — from the other person’s perspective.

I’m not quite sure whether this is my first memory of another person, but here we go…

Thrown into a cold world, miles away from the cosiness of my mummy’s belly. Bright lights above me shine down. A room with oddly shaped things standing in the corners and a woman dressed in blue and white. A nurse? Screaming seems to be all I can do. Hours later and I am still doing it. But between the tears squeezing through my squinty eyes, I catch glimpses of other people. Smiling happily. Looking curiously. A man and a girl. Daddy and sister? My sister, three years older than me. She’s holding onto a toy frog because she doesn’t know what else to do. She’s smiling too. She wanted her baby sister to be purple for some reason. She’s a bit weird like that. My skin is pinky-grey. But sister doesn’t seem to mind. She looks happy.

x

Leave a Reply

