Daily Prompt: Being Imaginary!

Daily Prompt: Many of us had imaginary friends as young children. If your imaginary friend grew up alongside you, what would his/her/its life be like today? (Didn’t have one? write about a non-imaginary friend you haven’t seen since childhood.)

When I was (a lot) younger, I had a family of imaginary friends. And yes, they were weird. There was a girl about my age called Diddums, her dad, Tom, and her mum, Addiglam, (don’t ask). The best part? In my head they looked a bit like potatoes with arms, legs and clothes! I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – I was a strange kid! But I had a lot of fun with them. Mainly it was Diddums and I playing a pretend game or sitting in front of the TV watching Mona the Vampire. Sometimes Tom and Addiglam would pop along and join us. I like to think they still live on somewhere in the depths of my subconscious mind. Diddums would be my age – perhaps she’s applying for a university place somewhere in Imaginary Land? As for Tom and Addiglam, they will be living a healthy life with one another, still in love as though they had only just met.

I kind of miss them…

x

4 responses to “Daily Prompt: Being Imaginary!

  1. I think those may be the most unique names I’ve come across for imaginary friends 😀

  2. Haha I love that you have Diddums, Addiglam and… Tom! I used to love Mona the Vampire 😉

Leave a Reply

