Daily Prompt: Being Lucid!

Daily Prompt: As it’s been a while since our last free-write… set a timer for ten minutes. Write without pause (and no edits!) until you’re out of time. Then, publish what you have (it’s your call whether or not to give the post a once-over).

In the past year I’ve become really interested in lucid dreaming. I’ve had them before when I was little but I never knew what they were. For those of you who don’t know, a lucid dream is one in which you are aware that you are dreaming. If you’re lucky, you can take control of your dream – which is amazing! You can fly, breathe underwater, soar into space – anything you want! You can even talk to yourself and ask what you really want from life. The only problem is, lucidity is so hard to achieve! I’ve only had one in the past six months. I remember walking to the window in my room and suddenly realising I was dreaming. I closed my eyes and imagined that my street was rolling countryside, and sure enough, when I opened them that’s what was there! Of course, the first thing most people would do if they could control everything would be to fly – and that’s what I did. I imagined myself with huge eagle wings and then soared out of my window and into the sky. Everything felt so real – I could feel my wings beating and the wind rushing past my face. I did this until I eventually woke up. It was incredible!

x

Leave a Reply

