Daily Prompt: Being Awkward!

Daily Prompt: Have you ever managed to paint yourself into the proverbial corner because of your words? What did you do while waiting for them “to dry”?

A friend I once sat next to in my school art lessons once asked me if I liked her painting. It wasn’t the best masterpiece I had ever seen (quite like mine) but I did like it, so I said yes. She replied straight away with “no you don’t”. How do you reply to that? Well, I just told her that I did again. Then she accused me of being a liar. My mind at that moment thought that giving her lots of compliments all at once would fix this disagreement. For some reason, telling her that the work was ‘amazing’ and ‘much better than anything else I’d seen that day’ didn’t do the trick – she could tell I was exaggerating and just ignored me for the rest of the lesson. Honestly, there’s no pleasing some people!

x

Leave a Reply

