Daily Prompt: Being Professional!

Daily Prompt: Now that you’ve got some blogging experience under your belt, re-write your very first post.

Well…my first post was slightly weird – sort of a monologue about mystical creatures. And I’m sorry to disappoint, but I’m not re-writing it, just make a few small changes. It was based on this Daily Prompt:

Daily Prompt: You have been transformed into a mystical being who has the ability to do magic. Describe your new abilities in detail. How will you use your new skills?’

So here it is!

I am freedom. Whenever life becomes too much for me, I simply spread my wings and escape. I have to be careful though, in case I am spotted. When everyday life begins to choke me once in a while, I exit my garden through a little door in the fence and walk straight into the woods behind my house. Then, when I am positive no-one can see me, I transform my self into something new – not a bird nor a beast – just a creature. I have glorious black wings and feathers that cover every inch of my body, and when I turn my face towards the breeze my whole being ripples like the leaves above me. Now I can take off; I stretch my colossal wings until I am triple my size in width, then soar upwards, away from everything normal and familiar. As the air rushes past my face, I climb higher and higher into the sky until only the clouds can see me – to anyone down below I will just appear to be a tiny speck of a bird in the distance. I turn into a black shadow moving against a sky streaked with impossible colours, and everything feels magical.  My abilities? I can fly of course. I like to think that I am looking out for the other people down there. Sometimes I like to terrify thieves so that they will never steal again; other days I enjoy swooping into dark alleyways where muggers lurk and carry them off to isolated islands until they have learnt their lesson.

When I am up there, I can let go of everything.

x

Leave a Reply

