Daily Prompt: Being Opposing!

Daily Prompt: Pick a contentious issue about which you care deeply — it could be the same-sex marriage debate, or just a disagreement you’re having with a friend. Write a post defending the opposite position, and then reflect on what it was like to do that.

I will always be against it – how so many people support it is beyond me. The Old Testament condemns it, therefore so shall I. ‘You shall not lie with a male as with a woman. It is an abomination’ – (Leviticus 18:22)

And, even if Jesus does not mention homosexuality in the New Testament, he still condemns all forms of sexual immorality – does an act of homosexuality not fit under this? Of course, I will love all of my neighbours, but if they have sinned in this way, judgement will be brought down on them by God himself.

So, that felt quite strange – but my opinion hasn’t changed. I support homosexuality and same-sex marriage, but I can understand why some Christians are against it – it is after all written in the Old Testament. But haven’t times changed now? I just wish there wasn’t so much bitterness towards it.

x

Leave a Reply

