Daily Prompt: Being Opinionated!

Daily Prompt: Do you have a good friend or close relative with whom you disagree on a major issue (political, personal, cultural)? What’s the issue, and how do you make the relationship work?

My friend was born in England but her Mum is Spanish. Every year she travels to Spain to see her family for a month or so during the Summer. Of course, I have nothing against people showing their love for a country but sometimes she just doesn’t stop telling me how much better Spain is than England. And it gets a bit annoying. I don’t need to constantly hear how amazing Spain’s culture is compared to England, how much better the weather is and even how much nicer the people are. Because I’m sure Spain does have an incredible culture, gorgeous weather and lovely people, but England has those things too (minus the weather part)! I wouldn’t say show our disagreement to each other, mainly because I keep my mouth shut and just nod. Sometimes I wish I could tell her that England is amazing too. Perhaps I’m just too patriotic?

x

2 responses to “Daily Prompt: Being Opinionated!

  1. I know this particular back-and-forth. I know it very well. These days, I’m more inclined to agree with the other side of the “my country is better” though. I’m not all that patriotic with the egotism, greed, and lunacy going on in my own country at the moment.

Leave a Reply

