Daily Prompt: Being a Flowery Garden Holiday!

Daily Prompt: Write down the first words that comes to mind when we say . . . home . . . soil . . . rain. Use those words in the title of your post.

Flowers were the first thing that came to my mind when I saw ‘home’. It’s not as if my family are crazy about flowers (you’ll find no bouquets in this house!) but in the summer my mum likes to pick Sweet Peas from a patch in the garden and puts them in a tiny glass vase filled with an inch of water. Whenever I walk through the door, the smell always greets me, along with the warm sunny weather outside and the promise of breaking up for the holidays. This leads on nicely to the second word – ‘soil’ reminds me of our garden. It’s funny how much of an influence my parents are having on my word association, but they are passionate gardeners and go out in all weathers to tend to our little slice of land – that doesn’t mean that my mum never complains about how cold and muddy it is out there. Finally, the last word – ‘rain’ – reminds me of our holidays, particularly to Cornwall. We go on a lot of walks along the coast path and this usually tends to be when the weather isn’t so good, as we like to make the most of the beach when the sun is out. The smell of rain-soaked, sun-warmed plants and soil always reminds me of our summer holidays, and hopefully this association will carry on!

x

2 responses to “Daily Prompt: Being a Flowery Garden Holiday!

  1. Pingback: Home, soil, rain – What came to my mind first. | The Hempstead Man

  2. Pingback: Home, Soil, Rain | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

Leave a Reply

