Daily Prompt: Being Awake!

Daily Prompt: Take a quote from your favorite movie — there’s the title of your post. Now, write!

“I am awake.”

Ok, so I know that Breaking Bad isn’t a movie, but being asked to pick a favourite film is, for me, like being asked what my favourite book is – there are too many to choose from. Luckily, I do have a favourite series.This particular quote is spoken by Walter White himself in the pilot episode of the first series. It always gets me thinking – what would make me feel truly ‘awake’ in life? And that doesn’t mean I’m going to starting whipping up some batches of crystal meth to earn some extra cash – my chemistry isn’t that good. I think for me it would be travelling. When I think back to the holidays I’ve been on throughout my life, the memories always seem so much more vivid and exciting. A few years ago I spent my birthday in Germany on an exchange with another school. That evening, my exchange partner and her friends took a few of us up the Wallberg Rubble Hill in Pforzheim – a manmade hill formed from the heaps of rubble left over from the war. By the time we reached the top, the sun was setting and everything was so beautiful – the group of us took photos with each other and just spent the time appreciating the views. That birthday, I really did feel alive. I hope to experience that feeling again and again and again throughout my life.

100_2298

x

Leave a Reply

