Daily Prompt: Being Decorative!

Daily Prompt: What do you display on the walls of your home ā€” photos, posters, artwork, nothing? How do you choose what to display? What mood are you trying to create?

The inspiration for my room is a cross between seaside and boho. I’m not quite sure how it happened, it just did. I like my space to be tidy and organised but not plain and sterile – I want to feel some cosiness!

On top of my drawers I've placed some candles in the centre (complete with an origami swan) and beside these are two book-tree sculptures that I made. I've strung a mini string of bunting above them.

On top of my drawers I’ve placed some candles in the centre (complete with an origami swan) and beside these are two book-tree sculptures that I made. I’ve strung a mini string of bunting above them.

I painted a narrow strip of wall a deep purple and stuck a poster from a visit to Stonehenge in the centre, then outlined it with fairy lights. I strung some yarn across it where I can hang cards and other pretty things!

I painted a narrow strip of wall a deep purple and stuck a poster from a visit to Stonehenge in the centre, then outlined it with fairy lights. I strung some yarn across it where I can hang cards and other pretty things!

The wall behind my desk is my favourite! I have a chalkboard, a length of yarn used to peg photos and two items I made myself - the beach sign and the photo frame I spray painted gold and painted.

The wall behind my desk is my favourite! I have a chalkboard, a length of yarn used to peg photos and two items I made myself – the beach sign and the photo frame I spray painted gold and painted.

So there we have it – a little snapshot into my room! Sometimes I wonder how I’ll cope leaving all of this for a strange room at uni…

x

Leave a Reply

