Daily Prompt: Being Lonely!

Daily Prompt: When was the last time you felt really, truly lonely?

There have been quite a few times in the past few months but I don’t really want to go into detail! Instead I’ll tell you about a time I went on a German exchange and ended up feeling a bit lonely on one of the days out. The whole trip was amazing overall, but this was just one little blip in my fun! It was the day before my birthday (I spent my 15th there) and whilst our partners were at school, we visited a town with a castle, beautiful architecture and lots of shops. One of the teachers asked me, my friend and another girl to go out and buy a present for the teacher who had arranged the whole trip, to say thank you, and of course we said yes. As the day wore on and we walked in and out of more and more shops, the other girl and my friend started to walk ahead of me and have their own conversations, telling each other how glad they were to have got to know each other – which is lovely, but it would have been nice to be included in this. I did feel kind of lonely trailing behind them while they completely ignored me. Maybe I was being a bit oversensitive – it was going to be my first birthday spent away from home, and because I’ve been shunted out of friendship groups in the past. Either way, the part that got to me most was at the end of the afternoon, once we had bought the presents. We were sitting in a café and the girl had her back to me, talking to my friend and telling her how nice it was that she had helped and had given up her whole day to buy the teacher’s presents. What about me?! I wasn’t acknowledged once. I didn’t want to be seen as a complete child and attention-seeker (because I’m not) but it hurt a bit!

x

Leave a Reply

