Daily Prompt: Being Hurt!

Daily Prompt: Think of a time you let something slide, only for it to eat away at you later. Tell us how you’d fix it today.

I hold on to things people say. I can’t let them go. I know that most of the time I should because these comments or actions just gnaw away at me for months, maybe even years, but it seems I am incapable of doing so. But at the same time, I don’t want to confront the ‘thing’ when it happens. I don’t like conflict and I especially don’t want to make a person feel bad for saying something they didn’t even mean as an insult. Like I’ve said many times previously, I’m probably just oversensitive! I suppose one example would be when I was around the age of thirteen. I was standing with my friends in the playground at school and a boy was walking around each girl and testing his knowledge on which makeup she was wearing. I didn’t wear much makeup back then, so when he came to me he just laughed and said something along the lines of “and you’re just ugly”. My so-called ‘friends’ laughed it off and so did I, but I have never let that go. Nowadays I barely go out without some makeup on.

x

Leave a Reply

